Four members of the American Association for Anatomy


ROCKVILLE, MD—Four distinguished members of the American Association for Anatomy (AAA) have been elected by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) to the 2021 Class of AAAS Scholars. They are:

  • Carol Gregorio, Ph.D., FAAA, Professor and Department Head, Cellular and Molecular Medicine at the University of Arizona (Biological Sciences Section). She received the RR Bensley Prize in Cell Biology in 2004 and elected a Fellow of the AAA in 2013.
  • Eduardo Rosa-Molinar, Ph.D., Director of the Microscopy Analytical Imaging Research Resource Core Laboratory (MAI) and Professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology at the University of Kansas (Section of Industrial Science and Technology).
  • Kathy Svoboda, Ph.D., FAAA, AAA President 2005-2007 and Acting Associate Dean for Research at Texas A&M College of Dentistry (Dentistry and Oral Health Sciences Section). She was elected a Fellow of the AAA in 2009 and received the AJ Ladman Award in 2014.
  • Mark Teaford, Ph.D., FAAA, Professor and Vice Chair of Basic Sciences at the College of Osteopathic Medicine at the University of Touro in California (Anthropology Section). He was elected Fellow of the AAA in 2019 and received the award Henry Gray Distinguished Educator Award in 2020.

“The recognition of our members by the AAAS highlights innovative and impactful science in anatomy,” said AAA President Valerie DeLeon, “We are proud of these outstanding scientists for exemplifying the vision of the AAA: “Inspiring scientific curiosity and discovery”.

“Being elected a Fellow of the AAAS is a lifetime honor bestowed upon distinguished scientists and innovators,” adds AAA President-Elect Martine Dunnwald.

Full List of 2021 AAAS Scholars Available here.

Warning: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of press releases posted on EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.


Comments are closed.